top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureA-Little-Bit-of-Lagom

UPDATE - I've Moved To Malmö!!


Hello lovely reader, I hope you are well!


I just thought I'd give you a little update on what's been happening recently.... Sadly there was no episode of A Little Bit of Lagom being released this week, as it has been a very chaotic time with my move to Sweden!


But this is a great chance to have time to catch up on any other episodes you haven't yet listened to yet, and connect with me over on instagram @alittlebitoflagom or drop an email to alittlebitoflagom@gmail.com!


So, what's been happening?


For those of you who don't know, as well as being incredibly passionate about the environment, sustainability and finding a more balanced approach to living, I am a freelance dance artist, sports massage therapist and coach/mentor in training, so have a bit of a sporadic career (I'm also currently finishing my Masters as well!)


Due to COVID19 and the lockdown in the UK, many aspects of my professional work has been almost non existent - no physical contact means no massage, and no theatres open or access to studio space sadly means little life for the dance sector. There was a big push digitally, but when living in a house share with only a small space at the end of your bed to try to dance in, online classes/teaching/creative work became incredibly frustrating.....


I also found that dance as an art form can very easily become diluted, and can feel very disconnected when expressed through digital format. There has been some wonderful digital work created, but in general, I have found the digital dance world a tricky one to navigate, along with making me further miss live performance, being shared with other space in real time and space.


So anyway, before I ramble too much - how did I end up in Malmo?


My rent where I was living ran out the end of August, so I needed to find somewhere to live... I was reluctant to commit to a tenancy agreement (which often has to be 10-12 months) in amongst so much uncertainty when I'm unsure where I'd want to base myself.


After some deliberating and consideration, an exciting possibility arose - to visit a very dear friend I trained with, who is living in Malmo with a vacancy in her apartment, with no set contracted end date! I found a job teaching dance classes, am in pursuit of further work, I am applying for residencies and having the space and perspective that feels very necessary in this time.


In Sweden, I am able to dance in a studio again which feels incredibly special after so long.

Another reason being in Sweden feels so special, is because the Swedish concept of Lagom was an initial source of inspiration for starting my podcast, so it seems crazy now, only a few months later to be living here!


I'm excited to explore more about the sustainable practices in place in Sweden, discover places within Malmo supporting a more eco friendly way of living, and of course look for a vegan community!! As well as hopefully learn some more Swedish....


It's very early days, since I only arrived Monday afternoon, but I'm excited to learn and share with you these experiences,


Again, apologies for no podcast episode this week, but keep your eyes peeled as next week I will be releasing another interview episode where I talked with Randie Cimino, who has started a zero waste store alongside her fulltime job - I was incredibly inspired and have so much admiration for her, and can't wait to share the episode with you.


If you have been enjoying the podcast, and would like to support my work further, please check out my Ko-fi account:


This podcast is unfunded, and is not run for profit, but I am finding ways to cover production costs to help sustain the creation of future episodes. I absolutely love sharing episodes with you, and hope I can continue to do so, which can only be possible with your support.


If you can and would like to donate, I would be so incredibly grateful!


I hope you're having a wonderful day wherever you are :)

49 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page